Nexus motorhome build, purchase and review

IMG_0548 My wife and I ordered a brand new Nexus 24V motorhome in February this year and brought it home to Michigan in June. I decided to start this blog because I could find very little on line discussion about the Nexus RV company out side of company produced videos. The company is “new” compared to most others and was born out of the demise of one or two large companies during the recent recession (depression) in the RV industry. The story of Nexus RV can be found on the company info pages so I will not repeat it here.

DSC00089 Having a motorhome is not new to us. We had a Pleasure-Way (built in Canada) wide body unit for ten years. Size wise it was a class B or B+ depending on your definition. Basically built for two , it was 20′ long on a Ford E-350 chassis. Had all the motorhome features but was certainly on the small side.  It still served us very well for a decade. Kudos to Pleasure-Way for building a very well constructed quality unit. We loved our “snugbug”.  We spent that decade basically touring the eastern part of the country from the Mississippi to the Atlantic Ocean. (when your limited on vacation time,  there is only so far you can travel at one time). I mentioned “touring” and that it was we did. We rarely spent more than a few days in one spot. You cannot easily park like the big rigs do and live for extended times in a 20′ capsule.

So why did we give up the Pleasure-Way?  Next August my wife retires and I am not sure what I will be doing. As a real estate broker I have the option of still working on a part time basis. Even so, we will have lots more time to travel the country. Who knows? We may even venture west across the Mississippi into the great unknown. Traveling more for longer times got us thinking we may need a somewhat larger motorhome.

Every other year we had been driving east to the “largest” RV show in Hershey PA. and visiting with others belonging to the Pleasure-Way owners group.  If your thinking about an RV and not sure what kind, invest the time and money and go to the largest RV shows in Hershey in September or Tampa in January and see thousands of RVs. Local RV shows just do not cut it. You will see and can compare on one site most all the RVs that exist.

So how did we end up with a Nexus RV out of Elkhart IN?

I cannot buy a two dollar trinket without researching it to death online so you can imagine what I was going through looking at spending a small fortune on a new motorhome.  After owning a RV for ten years we knew exactly what size and what features we wanted in a new one. A unit about 25 feet long would give us the extra “skosh” of space (mainly a second seating area, outside of the bed/couch). After hours of research, the best quality 25 footer out there I could find with the features that met our needs was a Leisure Travel Van (another Canadian company). It has everything going for it and I considered it the Cadillac or should I say the Mercedes of these size vehicles.  It is built on a Mercedes chassis with the diesel engine pushing out near 20 miles to the gallon. We were smitten with this motorhome. It is a top end model with most everything we wanted. I lusted for it and we made plans to purchase it. The “minor” concern was the ONE HUNDRED THIRTY THOUSAND DOLLAR price. Could I spend that…Yes. Did I really want to… No. My research was showing me that there were various companies building “similar” 25′ units, even with Mercedes chassis that were 40k to 50K less.  Was the quality there…no, were some of the features we really wanted there…no. I kept thinking, there must be something else out there that would fit us at a better price.

We went to the Hershey show last September which still convinced us that we could not live without the Leisure Travel Van. The price was still killing me though. In January while on our way to visit my cousin in Florida and stopped at the Tampa RV show to browse one last time before ordering. Once more it seemed the LTV was our buy until we happened to stumbled into the Nexus RV display. You see, we were not even looking at motorhomes without a diesel engine because I wanted that milage. Although Nexus does not build their smaller units with a diesel engine we were really impressed. They did not have their 24′ Viper model there but we saw the pics. Of course we couldn’t get the great features the Leisure Van had, could we? Every other dealer’s choice was basically interior/exterior colors and a few minor modifications inside. There answer to our can we buy one with this or that modification was invariably no. “You can only buy the models the way the factory makes them”. “Can’t be disrupting the production line you know for custom changes”. Asking the Nexus rep that same “can we do this mod”, the answer was always yes!   You work directly with the rep at the actual factory. They will custom build almost anything you can reasonably think of from their basic plans. Nexus quality and construction seemed great and the slide made for lots of room. The “catch”: was the gasoline engine at 9-12 mpg. That is why I wanted the diesel all along. The price though was near 40k less than the Leisure Travel Van. My wife kept saying “we can buy a lot of gas for 40K”. That did it. After more discussion at the show, we decided to visit the factory in Elkhart for a tour.

Arrived in Elkhart in mid February and met Loren, our sales rep. We looked at the models on the floor and got the factory tour. Unlike RV factory tours in the past, he had no problem taking us out on to the factory floor and showing us everything we wanted to see. We saw the construction techniques and how everything is put together. Later on we sat down and talked about specking out a 24V (Viper) motorhome. We asked for a bunch of changes from the stock design. My wife wanted a pull out pantry (no problem), the same color Corrion counter tops found in their higher end “Ghost” unit (no problem), extra fold down wall shelf in bathroom (no problem), remove oven and replace with three large drawers (no problem). I wanted AGM coach batteries (no problem), full anti-surge electrical protection system (no problem), interior switch to turn LPG on/off (no problem), a built in hidden safe (no problem). Add to this a number of smaller changes which were all agreed to. At this point Loren gave us the price for everything as was spelled out which was close to 40K less than the Leisure Travel van. On the spot we decided to order our Viper. Just a comment that there was absolutely no sales pressure from Loren or anyone else at Nexus. It is a very friendly atmosphere to make a big buying decision.

IMG_0315 The build started about the first of March. Early on we had a number of changes that we made as we had more time to think. None of the changes were a problem. If I had a question or concern about what something was going to look like or how it was being installed, Loren would take a picture of it on the line and text it to me. During production we had the opportunity to stop at the factory and see the motorhome about half way done. It took about eight to ten weeks to finish the motorhome including the paint job.
We also arranged with Loren for some custom paint features and met with the graphics employee to have exactly the minimal decal work installed where we wanted it. As I said earlier, no other RV company at this price point was willing to give us a free hand to do what we desired. We delayed picking up our Viper for over four weeks while I modified a garage to store it in at home. Nexus was more than happy to hold on to it for that time.

REVIEW

Have now put about three thousand miles on our Viper. The longest trip we have taken was from the Detroit area to St. Louis and back. The other two or three trips were much shorter. Nexus offers electrical hook-ups on site so a shake down cruise can be done around the factory for any deficiencies that turn up. My advice is to plan on spending at least two to three days in the area to find and have any bugs corrected. We only stayed over night and with more time we would have been able to find and have some of the small fixes taken care of on the spot. After you leave any warranty work will need to be done at one of their partnered authorized repair RV facilities, assuming you are not near the factory. Online forum discussions note that going to a RV dealer for warranty work can be frustrating since they did not sell you the vehicle and many times are going to service their customers first. This may or may not be accurate at all dealers but it makes sense.

The first problem I had was on our way north from St. Louis when a weld on the heat shield around the drive train gave way. When I say that the resulting sound of the heat shield hitting the drive train at freeway speeds sounded like the rear wheels were falling off, I’m not kidding. That was taken care of the next morning at Nexus on our way home.

The one problem I have had in Michigan requiring a RV repair tech involved the main door lock mechanism which malfunctioned and would not let the door open. I was not about to drive back to Elkhart (4.5 hours) so I got the Nexus ok to call a mobile RV repair guy out. He fixed it in an hour, I paid him directly (less complicated), and Nexus reimbursed me within a few days. Other than that I have had a number of smaller issues that with their support I was able to take care of. I do think some of the issues I had would have been caught at the factory with a better quality control program. The other is a more comprehensive customer walk through and orientation when you pick up the RV. These are probably the places I see a need for improvement.

The motorhome itself is a joy compared to the cramped quarters of our previous one. I get a lot of admiring comments on the road asking about it. Right now I am getting about 11-12 mpg on the highway and 9 or so in the city.

We think the customer service from Loren and all the rest of the staff has been exemplary. They were there to quickly answer all of our calls during the entire build process and post delivery.
We are very happy with our Nexus Viper and would recommend Nexus to anyone looking for a great RV manufacturer.

 

40 thoughts on “Nexus motorhome build, purchase and review

  1. Cheryl Moore

    I am interested if you have had an opportunity to do any more traveling with your Viper, and if so, have you experienced any more problems. If I may, I would also like to ask what you paid for your coach. I have b sen thinking about purchasing a Nexus band have seen one at the Pomona show, but have not made an offer. It would help me if I knew what someone else paid for theirs. I know you had a lot of customization done, but I would take that into consideration. Thank you for your reply.

    Like

    Reply
    1. magiccat1 Post author

      We actually put about six thousand miles on our 24V from June through October. We did have a few problems that turned up in those 6k miles but all were taken care of by Nexus. There are always problems after sale with almost any motor home you purchase. Nexus did run into a problem with their front end customer service that many of us experienced and complained about. They do seem to have addressed that issue now and my recent experience so far has confirmed that. In the end I am still happy overall with the “Nexus” experience. I could not find any manufacturer that would have allowed the changes I wanted.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Lynn-Paige Jeffrey

      Things must have changed as we purchased our 31P in February, 2017 and have had nothing but one problem after another with the corporate and repair experience. No follow through, does not return calls, text’s, emails or skywriting, to my knowledge. Things happen with RV’s and the warranty is critical to get the bugs worked out. With the exorbitant time we have had to spend on getting those things done due to the 50-75 times we have to contact (on our part), escalating it up the ladder, to get ANYTHING completed is horrendous. Actually, the ONLY things we have completed, we have had to do ourselves. We are so very disappointed.

      Like

      Reply
  2. J. Martin

    I have had a similiar analogy in my observations related to other brands. I personally like a lot of the european models that were out there but of course you cannot really get them here. Second I had been looking hard at the LTV that you aforementioned a 24TB. 130k easy. I did find one a 2014 11,000 miles that sold for 100k but just missed it. Had looked at the Navion / View whatever you want to call it and noted that the quality of workmanship was not quite as good as I had hoped at 116k (+) and the one I looked at had been show trampled and I was not so happy with the guy that wanted to shove purchase paperwork in front of me when I was merely on a fact finding tour. Your experience appeals to me and I understand the repair issues which is no where near the complexity I have dealt with related to boats. So I am looking for a solid RV that I can take my wife and 14 month old. I really want her to see as much as possible growing up. If you have any advice I would be grateful. Would like something very flexiable but with space. Was thinking of a 27v but your 24 actually looks almost big enough. Thank you for your blog as it was very informative.

    Like

    Reply
    1. magiccat1 Post author

      I would think you could work with the 24V, especially since your child is so young. The 27V doesn’t give you any additional child sleeping space. Either way your child is sleeping in the “dinette” area. Personally we very much prefer the u-shaped lounge over the standard dinette. What you get in the 27 V is a walk-around bed. The 24V has the corner bed which many can live with or hate. We basically had the corner bed for 10 years in our Pleasureway. Would we “prefer” a walk-around…probably, but we wanted the smaller vehicle for various reasons and it is not worth it to us to have the larger vehicle. I think it also would make a difference on how you plan on using your motorhome. We “toured” in the Pleasureway, usually never staying for more than two to three days in one spot, and never more than ten days at one time. Now after retiring, we will be spending considerably more time on the road. The 24 Viper with the slide gives us plenty of room. Actually, within the next couple of years we will probably be on the road from time to time with our four year old grand daughter. I would think you need to do a side by side comparison between the two Vipers at Nexus. Good luck

      Like

      Reply
  3. lbsandjr

    I purchased a Viper and took delivery of it in November 2014. I have had nothing but problems with in the last 4 months. Three days after I took delivery the paint began to peel. The light strip over the bedroom slide went out after a couple of times opening the slide. The recliner broke after about 5 or 6 times opening the footrest. The sofabed caused a hole in the floor. Their solution, patch a floating floor. There are no electric outlets, you need dangerous extension cords. The inverter is undersized for the coach. Something electrical is always blowing, fuses, GFI. The electric awning had the switch replaced and shorted out again immediately. Nexus ignores me. By the way. I had the coach repainted. It’s now 5 weeks since they are suppose to reimburse me for the cost. Still waiting for the check. Beware this company isn’t worth your money.

    Like

    Reply
    1. david Middleton

      ldsandjr.first i would like to apologize for your view of the unit we sold you.We take pride in what we are doing and work hard to satisfy our customers. From my records your warranty items totaled less than $300 and we paid the service center that did the work. Also your paint issue was paid and the check was mailed to you on Feb. 23 2015 if you have not received please let us know so we can put a stop payment and re issue a new one.There are outlets in your unit and are placed in several ares of the unit . There are several sizes of inverters and yours is not undersized for what it was intended for. If you have outstanding warranty issues please let us know As soon as possible as we will make sure you are taken care of as we stand behind our product 100% and will continue to work hard for our customers. Thank you again for your business.

      David Middleton Co-Founder

      Like

      Reply
      1. John

        As a potential customer looking to get something done that I don’t believe you have done before, I find your response both professional and promising. I have received a quote from James and I have a few more questions/modifications before ordering, but so far I am very satisfied with your company.

        Like

  4. Bill

    I am on my second Nexus Viper i upgraded from 28 to 30v just needed more room i have had them all from high end Diesel pushers to tow behind trailers. Nexus is the best safest riding RV out their in my opinion. Factory is always available for help. they do have some quality control issues before leaving the factory and like any other RV out their it has small issues that will need repair. Get your local RV dealer to sign up with Nexus for repairs What originally sold me is from start to finish on a build the RV is always kept inside out of the Weather. ..

    Like

    Reply
  5. Steve

    Hello – we are looking into a 29V – will make a decision in September after seeing them first hand at the Hershey RV show – was looking hard at Thor but see Nexus is hungry to build a business and they are not yet – too big for the personal touch. So far their sales department has been responsive and not pushy. How”s yours holding up? We are in Connecticut and they are slowly building up some service support for their warranty and standard services needs. I do have a specific question regarding the performance of the slider seals to date – are they working well? Any input would be welcome. Thank you

    Like

    Reply
    1. magiccat1 Post author

      Our 24V does have a slide. One of the reasons we upgraded from our Pleasureway. We have had a few issues but that can happen with any vehicle. More important is that most were promptly taken care of at Nexus. Two I handled locally because I didn’t want to make the trip to Elkhart and there was immediate reimbursement to me.
      I have not had any problems with the seals on the slide. They were dirty when I picked up the motorhome but after cleaning and “lube” I have not had any problems.
      One of the problems I did have was with the slide though. It turned out to be a bad slide switch which was replaced.
      Nexus has had some problems with their quality control and service staff but have recently revamped those two departments to address the problem. Overall we really like our 24V. They built to our specs which was something I was unable to find anywheres else.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Bill

      Hello Steve

      I have the 30V which i traded up from the 28V and we are happy that we did the double slide outs and the extra 3 ft make a big difference. Nexus puts the money in the chassis and frame i think its the best in the business and i have had many including a 40 diesel pusher. We travel from Southwestern Virginia to NY often and our coach holds up outstanding especially against the truck drivers. We leave them in the dust when necessary. Best advice i can give you if you buy a Nexus make sure you get your Local RV dealer to sign up with Nexus so any repairs are covered. Nexus is very responsive when it comes to service. As with most RV,s you will have small problems but nothing big. Driving the coach is like driving an over sized van you can go any where a car can go. As far as your slide outs make sure they are air tested and you get it writing their are no leaks, my 28v had a leak in the slide out that we could not resolve..

      . Good Luck

      Like

      Reply
    3. lbsandjr

      I have changed my attitude towards Nexus. If you read my above post, I was not happy with my 27V, and the fact that Nexus told me I was too demanding. I took a trip to Elkhart in May. They addressed most of my issues without argument. My slides also leaked, the rear one, so badly that the water ran into the storage compartments. The slides were closed at the time. The coach was put in their rain bay, and they couldn’t get it to leak. However the rain bay doesn’t replicate wind driven rain. They added sealant on the boxes themselves, which I don’t see would do anything. So far the slide hasn’t leaked again. I think it’s a design flaw in the gutters that end right at the edge of the slide. Also the LED light strip that was over the rear slide had become unglued and was interfering with the seal too.

      Like

      Reply
    1. dixoncrshi

      Kathy. Looking forward to that update.
      We are on the west coast with a planned trip to Elkart in November to view and possibly order a Bently. I like to hear about the experiences others have so I know what details to explore. What I have so far is: know our wants and needs for full time living. When we pick up the unit get a full introduction and plan to explore around the area for several days before heading back west. Have the slides tested and certified there are no leaks in the air hose. Bake cookies for customer support.
      Anything else that anyone would recommend? This the first RV that we will own, our previous experiences were with family owned or rented units. I am looking to the community for support.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Kathy

        Please check out my website at http://www.nexus-rv.com
        Due to family medical issues, I have not updated the site with the missing inlaid removed details and cracked stove top counter…..more to be coming. Please note, the couple picking up their new Bentley, had unending attention , with service staff attending to the motorhome.

        Like

  6. tjfhrb

    I bought a used RV (non-Nexus) for a fraction of the cost of a new one. I took it in and had it serviced and have had few problems. Maybe I’ll just keep what I’ve got. Buying new and working through all this issues does not sound like any fun!

    Like

    Reply
    1. lbsandjr

      The problem is when sink that much money in to a coach, there should not be any problems. This is the 4th new motorhome I’ve have and never ever have I had to take one back to fix any problem.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Terri Slager

    Unhappy with their customer service…I have owned a couple of motor homes. I am a travel nurse and live in mine full-time. Last year I purchased a Nexus Viper 29MM that was only a year old at the time and was in love with it. It had all the amenities I wanted and was very comfortable in it. That is until the rain hit where I was.. At first I didnt notice the leaking because it was in a closet and a cabinet that I did not get into very much, also the storage under the rig was not noticed either because again, I did not get under there much. About a month later I had to get into the closet for something and noticed there was mold growing on my clothes. Then I started searching for other places and that is when I found over my cabinet the linens and towels were growing hair and in the front cab on the floor board where I had stuff stored was also moldy. I began cleaning the mold which was a big chore. Then we got more rain while I was at work and when I got home my entire desk was wet, papers and computer and dripping onto the floor. I called customer service and talked to Steve and was very upset to find that their service was not very “customer friendly” Basically I was told that “I” had to find and pay for the person to come out and decide where the leak was and that since everything was out of warranty I would be responsible. Ummm people, this is a rig that is only 2 years old!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. lbsandjr

      Thank you for your post. I too, had a leaky Nexus Viper. I finally located the source of the leak. Check the gutters near the roof. Especially under a slide. I found that instead of a continuous solid gutter it was pieced together. Where it was pieced, it wasn’t even and didn’t even have any type of caulk or silicone. I had the problem repaired and paid for it myself. My coach is still under warranty for a couple more months, but it took them 2 months to reimburse me. Mine also leaked through the floor to the storage compartment. I have rust spots in that compartment, because I didn’t realize it had leaked. They no longer set up warranty work with a local dealer. I had to have my awning repaired and had electrical problems fixed. Nexus customer service is terrible. I went to the factory to have many issues dealt with. and since then they ignore me. Dave Middleton says I’m to demanding. I feel your pain about Nexus. Just know you are not alone. You can complain to the attorney general’s office, but they ignore them too.

      Like

      Reply
      1. lbsandjr

        Please disregard my comment of June 21. After returning from the factory. Many of my problems returned and their attitude went back to the original post.

        Like

      2. David middleton

        As the co founder I do appreciate the comments and feed back. All u ask is for the comments to be accurat and truthful . Nexus stands behind our product and although not perfect we strive hard to take care of our customers. I’m sorry for those that purchased a used Nexus which does not come with a warranty and are upset. For those of you that have an issue my cell phone is on our web site 574-876-6632. I will take every call and every issue as we take pride in providing the best value for the dollar. I’m her for every customer. Thank you

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Kathy

        Get off the “used” wagon and put on your big boy pants. This 2014 vehicle was 1 month old and on your lot for 1 year. 3880 miles with switched out parts….dating back to 2011. You can only go so far with playing that used vehicle card. Dealer sold it and got it back in 1month; receiving 2 pays for selling this VIPER. Claimed brand new and only toilet used 1 time. Everything brand new….what a deal……..NOT water tank was used and patched……..leaked and leaked after “fixed”…..ac not working at all, lights burned out, coach batteries dead….old and filthy, cylinoid in Ford engine was 2011 and not working, dash under steering wheel falling out repeatedly, radio quit working, tv fell out of framing in bedroom (was attached by staples), hub cap torn, ladder bent up, cracks in counter cover for stove (not matching counter), missing detail above refrigerator and bed, levelers still don’t work correctly “fine by Nexus”……..bed never used???…………….. Dealer will not own up to anything. “Let salesman go right before I came to take the vehicle!!!!” Only response is “used”. Pictures when selling it don’t match the damage when received. Argued the extras on the internet. After down payment, tried to not include those items. Added them poorly and nothing but trouble and subsequent repairing…………
        They cost me a lot of time, money and most of all; getting to take my mother on trips, that was what this vehicle was bought for. Shame on this dealership!!!!!!
        They need to be responsible. Discussions are commencing and parts are in hand, for insurance company and Ford Motor Corp to view. Nexus just ignores me; from the time I arrived at their dealership in May 2015 to now. I believe there is no heart, just greed. The safety of the buyers should be at the forefront.

        I even delivered a buyer to his home in Illinois, as his new VIPER was being repaired AGAIN. This assisted the buyer and the dealership, as the buyer was not happy anyway. Nexus….no thank you or nice compliment to me for helping their client.

        More to come……visit my website as it will be updated soon……..as everything unfolds….. http://www.nexus-rv.com

        Like

    1. Linda Overman

      Has anyone bought their new 34B Diesel pusher?
      If so, any problems and if so, resolved?
      Sounds like lot of coach for less money, but customer service seems to get bad reviews.
      Also, only 4-5 years in business. Hope they make it in a tough business.

      Like

      Reply
      1. lbsandjr

        Nexus customer service is atrocious. It’s always the customers fault. They love to ignore you. You have to contact them by email, so you have a record. You mostly get ignored.

        Like

  8. Tim

    Any Phantom 28P owners out here? Was looking at Thor, but came across Nexus. As with any product, small glitches are to be expected. Looking forward to visiting the factory in 2 weeks. Unless I am missing it, the website is pretty bare of information such as specs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kathy

      Please feel free to visit my website. http://www.nexus-rv.com. I have been away, due to the sudden death of my mother (stage 3 cancer), of whom this vehicle was bought. I spent the whole summer getting it repaired. It appears to have been parted out and Nexus had it on their lot the entire time. They will not take ownership of this. I have all parts and the insurance company is aware of their apparent underhanded dealings. Ford corporation is being notified also. Please be very careful……….

      Like

      Reply
  9. Electron

    Kathy

    Sounds like you are a bitter woman and blame all issue on others, put on you big girl diapers since many people have had good experience with Nexus and Other have had bad experience with other manufacturers. Nexus stands behind its products, you cannot expect a manufacturer to warrant something that is not in warranty. I have had the same issue with Winnebago and they refuse to warrant something 10 days out of warranty. So I paid for it and moved on…. Time for you to Move On, you may feel better about the world!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Traveling on

    I agree with above poster. People buy a used rig and expect the warranty to go on forever. With all RVs I have owned (and there have been many) the warranty only applies to the original owner, not to any second owners even if the original owner only had it for one month.

    I purchased a new 2017 Ghost 36DS and sure there have been some issues on it but we stayed at the plant for 4 days while these were worked on. We took it on a week trip and had some more issues and took it right back to the factory and all items were taken care of in a timely manner.
    I got home and took the rig into the International dealer for a truck issue and they found the exhaust system needed some attention. I sent the pictures off to Nexus service and it is being taken care of at this time. The issue of getting it fixed was not in question at any time. Each time I contacted service on the phone I talked to the service person and felt they were very much interested in my problem.

    In the first 3 weeks we had it we put 3200 miles on it and we are getting ready to head off on another 6,000 mile trip in a few days. Later this year we are going on an extended time out in it over the winter traveling across the southern states.

    So far we are pretty happy with our choice of rigs and hope to have many more miles in the next few years. Got to get in all the miles I can as I’m not getting any younger and not many more years traveling left.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. terri slager

      I purchased a 2013 Nexus Viper 30′ used in January of 2014. I wasnt even a year old yet. I first big rainstorm I was in I had leaks all over and it was destroying the wood by the bathroom door so I couldnt close it. I called the company and they basically said it wasnt their problem and were not helpful at all and I should have the roof sealed. It wasnt even a year old. I did that at my own expense but the next rain that came did the same thing. Again, they refused to help. I got my insurance company involved but before they could determine where the leaks were coming from there was an electrical fire and it completely burned. Lets just say, I am not happy with Nexus or their products.

      Like

      Reply
  11. KathyH

    I notice the latest comments are from 2016. It is now April 2, 2017. Are there any more of you out there that own the Nexus product? Getting ready to purchase one and any reviews would be useful and appreciated.

    Like

    Reply
    1. tjfhrbTodd Fog

      Attended Hershey RV show in Fall 2016 and spent time in Nexus. Decided on Winnebago 31D Class C MH which we found to be of better design and quality for our needs. Spend a lot of time looking at everything before buying…we did and it resulted in the perfect fit for our needs.

      Like

      Reply
    2. CathiS

      We purchased our Nexus Bentley in March of 2016. We have living in it since then. We count Aug 22 as the beginning of full time, because the house was sold and the old storage unit (from 6 years earlier) was emptied. We have been very pleased with the coach and the support from Nexus to address the inevitable issues. Nothing has happened to cause us to park at a repair facility for days on end so we count that as a winner. 16,600 miles so far. This winter we were in southern CA and AZ, we are working our way back to Washington state for business in April.

      Like

      Reply
  12. KathyH

    Thank you for added responses. We purchased the 29v Viper today. We have been in contact with our sales representative (Chris) for a couple of months. He has been very helpful and has made our experience to be very personable. When you have someone that answers your calls with a can do attitude and a sense of humor it is so refreshing. Our transaction went as planned and all the people that were working there were friendly and appeared to love what they were doing. Kudo’s to both Kelly and Liz; thanks for the extras like the coffee in the mornings and the bottles of water. Everyone there was pet friendly and understand that our pets have a good percentage of say in the toys we purchase; they must be considered also. Will keep posting later.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Jill Ron Allen

    We purchased a 2013 32′ Phantom in August of 1016. My biggest disappointment is that we paid too much. It needed leveling jacks and tires. We found out the hard way with the tires when we had three blowouts in one year.

    Again Customerservice was sketchy. Could fix some items on punch list before we headed home and promised that they would send someone out from our area. A bit if a fib.

    We purchased this after the preview owner had some drastic changes made including entertainment center in front bunk and bunk beds turned into closet. Also the booth removed so a comfy chair could be in the coach.
    We do feel that the extensive closet where the bunks were added too much weight. This should not have been done.
    This will be our last rv and we hope to take it to CO this summer. Last year Ron
    Was diagnosed with cancer so traveling was out on hold. We are currently driving home to Texas from Eureka Springs and itnis performing great.

    Like

    Reply
    1. CathiS

      I am sorry that health issues have impacted your travel plans. I hope you have a good trip to Colorado and get a chance to see the who and what you want. It is so hard with a used rig to know the condition of various parts and actions taken by the previous owners. – Travel safe.

      Like

      Reply
  14. susan valvo

    We are thinking of getting the 2018 Phantom 31P next week…any thoughts out there to share? We have done a ton of research and it seems like theirs is the best well built rig out there. So far we have had good customer service just in the buying process. All info would be appreciated!

    Like

    Reply
    1. magiccat1 Post author

      We actually sold our 24V in February while snowbirding in Florida. We had both the Nexus (for Florida) and a Winnebago Travato (for traveling out West). Two RVs was just one too many. Once we had gotten through the first year warranty work on the Nexus, the remaining two years were relatively problem free. No knock on the 24V but we just decided to downsize for the freedom that a smaller vehicle allows. Obviously, your looking for something larger. Everyone has different needs. Once again though…. till we sold it, we were enjoying it.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment